13 June 2024

Narendra Modi sworn-in as India’s PM for a third term

Leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP), Narendra Modi has been sworn-in as India’s Prime Minister for a third term.

Modi, 73, is only the second Indian leader -after Jawaharlal Nehru, to win a third consecutive term of the world’s biggest democracy.

He was sworn in by President Draupadi Murmu at a ceremony at the forecourts of Rashtrapati Bhavan(the president’s residence) in New Delhi yesterday(09 June) and attended by an estimated 9,000 people, including dignitaries, Bollywood stars and industrialists.

Narendra Modi to lead India for third term (File photo)

Top leaders from seven neighbouring countries, including Maldives, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka were special guests at the function.

The 72-member Union Council of Ministers were also administered the oath of office by President Murmu.

BJP-led National Democratic Alliance – consisting of 14 regional parties, won the general election with 293 seats, a much lower margin than predicted by exit polls.

His BJP party lost 63 seats in the lower house, and Modi himself won with a reduced victory margin of nearly 1.53 lakh votes in Varanasi. In 2019, his victory margin was 4,79,505.

A total of 64.2 crore voters had exercised their franchise in this 2024 elections that saw a total voter turnout of 65.79% , according to Election Commission of India.

Comments are welcome

Get Noticed –  

from NewsViews

Like NewsViews

Advertise here

Support us- we are local